Accept Disappointment Gracefully

Bad dog, no biscuit!

Bad dog, no biscuit!

Well..Marley was at it again! But this time it ended in a trip to the ER for me, literally. OK, we were on our way to a friend’s house in the golf cart. Murphy was sitting on the floorboard and I noticed his tail was hitting the asphalt. I stopped and leaned over to gently lift his tail into the cart. Suddenly he decided to jump out of the golf cart. I grabbed his leash to prevent this and the leash tore through my finger and ripped it wide open. It was a freakish accident. Blood started pouring out of my fingers. I ran inside to wash it and see what the damage was. It was almost an avulsion, torn down to my bone. I almost fainted. I grabbed a clean towel, applied direct pressure, and off to the ER we went. I had to get 5 stitches to put the flesh back together. The ER folks said they had never had a golfcart/dog/leash injury before. They haven’t met my dog! When I got home, I took one look at Marley and walked away. I was pretty mad at him. Then I thought, well, it wasn’t his fault right? WRONG! It was his fault. How do I give him a clean slate for this? It did take me a couple of hours to forgive him though, due to the fact that my finger was almost ripped off from his naughty behavior. I guess I have to accept the fact that I really have a naughty dog. I will accept this disappointment gracefully. Clean slate given at 3 a.m. Friday night. Training resumes tomorrow at zero dark thirty. Bad dog, no biscuit.

6 thoughts on “Accept Disappointment Gracefully

  1. No freakin’ way! Mary, you are a saint! He didn’t mean it, but still . . . . Tha’s like a plane related bicycling accident!

    I am sorry you were hurt and hope you have a speedy healing. I guess some dogs leave paw prints on your heart and scars on your fingers?!

  2. OMG this could not be happening, M will have to be on golf cart restriction, I am so sorry, I know he is too – he loves you more than he can ever say

  3. He’s not a bad dog! He’s just an old lab catching up for all he missed before he came into your life. You just have to keep out of his way.

  4. Oh my goodness! There is never a dull moment in your life!!! I am so sorry….but you are a Harnish and that equates to “Lightning Rod!” Bahahaha! Take care of that finger….I am confused…who is Marley? Is that Murp’s middle name? Love you sis! ❤

Leave a Reply

